Awards and Fellowships



  • Hockmeyer Fellowship (for more information contact Carol Granger ( Eligibility: post-candidacy graduate student working in Life Sciences research in a laboratory of CMNS
  • Emad Fellowships (for more information contact Carol Granger ( Eligibility: post-candidacy graduate student working in a laboratory of CMNS.


  • National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program. Eligibility: United States citizens or permanent residents. Individuals are eligible to apply: 1) during the senior year of college, 2) after graduating from college and prior to entering graduate school, 3) during the first year of graduate school, 4) prior to completing the first term of the second year of graduate school.
  • American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship. Eligibility: graduate students working in research broadly related to cardiovascular function and disease, stroke or to related clinical, basic science, bioengineering or biotechnology, and public health problems.


Alphi Chi Sigma Albertus Magnus Award for Outstanding Teaching in General Chemistry

  • Cassandra Taylor, 2007
  • Romina Heymann, 2010

American Chemical Society (ACS) Awards

  • Bo He, 2006 Best Poster at 232th National Meeting, San Fransisco
  • Leonard Demoranville, 2007 Nuclear Chemistry Division Graduate Student Travel Award

American Physical Society Awards

  • Linjie Li, 2008 Division of Laser Science Student Travel Grant Award

American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) Science, Mathematics, and Research for Transformation Defense Scholarship for Service Program (SMART), Fellow

  • Dennis Mayo, 2008
  • Amanda Chamber, 2009
  • Edward Sisco, 2011

Ann G. Wylie Dissertation, Fellow

  • Wei-Hao Huang, 2007
  • Wei Zhang, 2008
  • Jacqueline Smith and Lei Yan, 2010
  • Daniel Gowetski, Sanghee Nah and Jia Wei, 2011
  • Christopher Sims and Ben Zhang, 2013
  • Kai-Ti Chang, Christopher Eginton, Andrew Keane, and Yijing Liu, 2014

Achievement Rewards for College Scientists (ARCS), Fellow

  • Rebecca Vieira, 2007-2008
  • Colin Wynne and Merle Zimmerman, 2008-2009
  • Seth Thomas and Stefanie Sherrill, 2009-2010 & 2010-2011
  • Kelli Golanoski 2012-2013
  • Eleanor Gillette 2013-2014

Calixarene (Calix)

  • James Creagan, 2007 Best Poster Award at the College Park Conference

Carl L. Rollinson Teaching Award

  • Leonard Demoranville and Mara Dougherty, 2008
  • Min Jia and Lenea Rader, 2009
  • Abulfazl Fakhari Mehrjardi, 2010
  • Matthew Hurley and Frederck Nytko III, 2011
  • Avantika Dhabaria, Bradley Gordon, and Gretchen Peters, 2012
  • Cathryn Gail Blakely and Haohao Ke, 2013
  • Lucia Geis-Asteggiante and Kim Huynh, 2014

Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE) Distinguished Teaching Assistant Award

  • Nicole Carbonaro, 2008
  • Bryna Clover, 2008
  • Katherine Connor, 2008
  • Kelly Daggett, 2008
  • André Dennis, 2008
  • Mara Dougherty, 2008
  • Aaron Haeusler, 2008
  • Will Harrell, 2008
  • Raffaele Perrotta, 2008
  • Adam Smolinsky, 2008
  • Soheila Bahmanjah, 2010

College of Chemical and Life Sciences Travel Award

  • Leonard Demoranville, 2008
  • Marvourneen Dolor, 2008
  • Juan Du, 2008
  • Soumyadip Ghosh, 2008
  • Eugene Khaskin, 2008
  • Julia Khusnutdinova, 2008
  • Qingnan Liu, 2008
  • Jing Wu, 2008
  • Qin Zhong, 2008

The Dolphus E. Milligan Graduate Fellowship Award, Fellow

  • Christopher Sims, 2008-2010
  • Reyniak Richards, 2009-2011
  • Julia Greenfield, 2010-2012
  • Blessing Deeyaa, 2011-2013
  • Stephanie Miller, 2012-2014
  • Christopher Hernandez, 2013-2015

Excellence in Graduate Research Award

  • Linjie Li and Ling Ma, 2008
  • Juan Du, Patrick McTamney and Qin Zhong, 2009
  • Jonathon Duay, Maria Del Mar Ingaramo and Jia Wei, 2011
  • Mark Nakasone, Brendan Yonke, Xiaochen Wang, and Davit Potoyan, 2012
  • Nicholas Corsepius and Xichen Xu, 2014

Fellow in the Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation Bridge to the Doctorate Fellowship Program

  • Dave Jenkins, 2010-2012
  • Taylor Hood, 2013-2015

G. Forrest Woods Award for Graduate Study in Chemistry

  • Rennisha Wickham, 2011
  • Maxim Ratnikov and Luigi Alvarado, 2012

Gary and Sue Christian Graduate Award

  • Shweta Ganapati, 2014

Glen E. Gordon Memorial Fellowship

  • John Goodell, Ashley Sexton, Lauren Stevens, 2014

Graduate Assistance in Areas of National Need (GAANN), Fellow

  • Domonique Downing, Derick Lucas, Thao Nguyen, Lenea Rader, Jacqueline Smith, 2009-2010
  • Mara Dougherty, Domonique Downing, Raffaele Perrotta, Maxim Ratnikov, James Wittenberg, 2010-2011
  • Lauren Graham, Romina Heymann, Maxim Ratnikov, Christopher Sims, Brendan Yonke, 2011-2012
  • Julie Nicely, Brittany Vinciguerra, Benjamin Roembke, Eleanor Gillette, Christopher Sims, 2012-2013
  • Daniel Baluha, Kaitlyn Crawford, Derek Denning, Gretchen Peters, Lyndsey Powell, Jonathan Senn, 2013-2014

International Carotenoid Society (ICS) Awards

  • An-Ni Chang, 2008 Young Investigator Travel Award

Jacob K. Goldhaber Travel Award

  • An-Ni Chang, 2008
  • Marvourneen Dolor, 2008

James M. Stewart Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Qing Zhu, 2006
  • Arthur Winter, 2007

Jenny T. Sih Fellowship

  • Andrew Longhini, 2014

Dr. Mabel S. Spencer Award for Excellence in Graduate Achievement

  • Oluyomi Okunola, 2008

Millard & Lee Alexander Fellowship in Chemistry

  • Ben Roembke, Amanda Souna, Brittany Vincinguera, Yi Yu, 2014

National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers

  • Oluyomi Okunola, 2007 Best Oral Presentation, Graduate/Professional Division at SE Regional Meeting

Summer Research Fellowship awarded by the Graduate School, Fellow

  • Maria Del Mar Ingaramo, Karen Lohnes, Emily Trunkely, Jing Wu, 2008
  • Domonique Downing and Huizhi Bai, 2010

Washington Mass Spectrometry Discussion Group Awards

  • Stephen Swatkoski, 2007 Travel Award

William Bailey Fellowship

  • Xiang Ye, Chris Eginton, 2014

William F. Bailey Summer Research Fellowship

  • Maria Del Mar Ingaramo, Sanghee Nah, Jingxin Wang and Jia Wei, 2010
  • Joseph Cannon and Michael Stocker, 2011
  • Meghan Burke, Christopher Eginton, Chun Geng, and Jason Hustedt, 2012
  • Andrew Keane, Allen Ng, Xiang Ye, and Guoqiang Jian, 2013
Print Friendly

Biochemistry PhD Program

We provide rigorous graduate course work in biochemical and biophysical principles and techniques as well as in molecular biology, genomics and proteomics, and systems biology. Learn more about our Biochemistry Graduate Program.

Chemistry PhD Program

Collaborate on projects in interdisciplinary fields such as nanofabrication, bioorganic chemistry, supramolecular synthesis, environmental and atmospheric chemistry and fuel cell research. Learn more about our Chemistry Graduate Program.